Forums Latest Members
  1. NickM79 Oct 24, 2016

I've always wanted to own an Omega and out of the blue I've just been given a Geneve Dynamic that belonged to my uncle. It's working perfectly but there are a couple of things I'd like to fix; new glass, restore strap etc, but one thing I've noticed (I'm no expert) is the second hand is thin silver where almost all examples I've seen have a thicker orange or blue one. Can anyone advise? Thanks.

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
    OmegaFL likes this.
  2. Canuck Oct 24, 2016

Welcome,

The steel examples of this style of Dynamic that I have seen generally have a powder blue seconds hand. I think you are correct that this hand is not original. As to restoring the strap? Exactly how do you propose doing that? I have seen new replacements available, but in navy blue? That might be a challenge! Many Dynamic straps of this style were made of Corfam, and my opinion of these is that they are junk! Leather would be better IMO.

NickM79 likes this.
  3. NickM79 Oct 24, 2016

Thanks for the reply. The strap is actually black, the images have a blue tint because I took them with my phone in a hurry! I just wanted to keep as much of the authentic original as possible. I don't know if the material Corfam is something that can be 'restored'. I'll look around for alternative straps. Do you recall where you saw new replacements?
    There is a slight blemish on the edge of the face around the 51 min mark. I had read that this area can be pinched when the mechanism is accessed/replaced incorrectly. The rest of the face seems to be fine, except for the little gold blobs (luminance?) at the end of the markers for 25, 50 and 55 mins. There is a crack in the glass at 35 mins but I get the impression replacements are still available.