Forums Latest Members
  1. Andrew C May 5, 2021

Came across this one in the wild during my morning scan of all the places where one might scan for internet related bargains.

This wasn't a bargain as much as it's a bit of a mystery. Something about the feel of this one leads me to think there's some originality to it. I own a regular normal turtle, but I am no expert.

Let's start with what I don't like:
    - Bezel looks a little too perfect for me, compared to some wear/ polishing to the case.
    - I cannot find any images of anything similar on the web.

What I like:
    - The lume is very well aged, and seems to match between the hands and the dial.
    - The dial is exceptionally well executed, and the hands seem to line up very well with the dial markers
    - The date window looks beveled.
    - It just doesn't feel like a modern mod or a fake dial to me.
    - That little yellow diver symbol on the dial looks so damned familiar, but I cannot place it. Any ideas? I feel like that might be the secret to cracking the code.
    - Case back looks good, is a Japan A and serials make total sense to me.

I'm fully expecting that this either doesn't turn up, or it's trash when it arrives. That said, throwing this out there to see if anyone with any knowledge on this. Not going to be butthurt by "this is trash, throw it away". But feels like a fun little mystery for me.

upload_2021-5-5_14-43-37.png upload_2021-5-5_14-44-30.png upload_2021-5-5_14-44-48.png

2. S.H. May 5, 2021

Vostok ? :D

Seriously though, this one is probably 80% trash... the case (not the bezel insert, it is a copy) and movement may be original, but the rest :cautious: I doubt it very much. Lots of fake / mod parts in the vintage Seiko world.

3. JwRosenthal May 5, 2021

Any time I see “funky” in a title I am drawn to read it- I love funky!