Forums Latest Members

First vintage watch purchase: Constellation cal. 561

1. peture Nov 26, 2017

Hey everyone

I'm venturing into watch collecting, and recently made my first vintage watch purchase on ebay. After losing out on a few Seamasters, I fell for an Omega Constellation cal. 561 ref. 168.004 which I received about a week ago.

Now, I'm a complete noob, but have tried to do my research as best I can. As far as I can tell, everything checks out, but I would appreciate it if someone with more experience would offer their opinion on my purchase.

I haven't opened it up yet, but everything else looks like it should. The case, and especially the lugs seem to have had some polishing done, but not overly so, except the top right lug which is slightly thinner than left one (although not as much as the 3rd photo makes it look like).
    The dial looks untouched, with some patina which becomes very visible under magnification. The hands also show their age with some wear/patina :)

I haven't made any real accuracy tests, but it seems to run very accurately. I have just downloaded Toolwatch on my phone, so in 12 hours I will know more.

Here are the photos from the listing:

s-l1600.jpg s-l16001.jpg s-l16002.jpg s-l16003.jpg s-l16004.jpg s-l16005.jpg s-l16006.jpg s-l16007.jpg s-l16008.jpg s-l16009.jpg s-l160010.jpg s-l160011.jpg

Also, as a side note I found this interesting blog post regarding 100.000 cal. 561's going through chronometer testing with very good results, and the serial numbers seem to indicate that my watch is part of those tested watches, which is very cool, if true.
    http://ialreadyhaveawatch.com/2009/01/the-famous-100000-consecutive-omega-561-chronometers/

Can anyone tell me more about this watch?

Thanks in advance!

- peture

mikechi22 and CharlesGenta like this.
  2. Edward53 Nov 26, 2017

Your assessment seems pretty accurate to me. Nice dial! The strap looks uncomfortably wide for the watch.

3. peture Nov 26, 2017

Thanks Edward :)