Forums Latest Members

First purchase by Paypal : need help to prevent my selft

1. Sashashu Dec 25, 2017

Hi guys ,

I'm about to buy a watch from a guy that i've met on a FB page lately . He has his own website selling watches and seems to have many of that to sell .
    We agreed on a price and i'm about to pay him by paypal .
    Basically , what do i have to do is to put his email adress and the amount , right ?
    He also told me that have to not tick the " merchendise " to get away from the fees and the taxes because it comes from the US to France .
    What should i do ? Do i need to follow the advice ? Am i still protected by doing this this way ?

How can i make sure that i won't get ripped off / robbed ? Just curious because i have no experience with Pay pal .

Thank you .

Merry Christmas !

Sasha

2. keepschanging Dec 25, 2017

I think you have to tick the ‘buying goods/services’ option in order to benefit from PayPal customer protection (fraud etc.). The seller will incur a fee of about 4%, which they will usually ask you to pay.

Larry S and Foo2rama like this.
  3. Bulldozer Dec 25, 2017

Without knowing the seller I would not speculate about their integrity but by using Paypal and not checking the merchandise box you mean you are sending a gift? if so you are leaving yourself open if things do not go the way that you think that they will with the transaction. I would recommend paying a bit more and playing by the rules.

You will of course still have to pay any duty that French customs demand on the goods you bought and without full proof of what you paid for goods and postal fees they will savage you for money if they are like Portuguese customs

gemini4 and Sashashu like this.
  4. alam Dec 25, 2017