Forums Latest Members
  1. kworcester Feb 17, 2015

Hi - this is my first post to the forum, although I have been a lurker for a while. I received my first Omega (SMP) as a Christmas present in 2013. As I understand nothing happened without photos, here it is:
    SMP.jpg

I'm now bitten by the Omega bug, and in a moment of weakness placed a winning bid on what was listed as simply an "Omega Seamaster" but which upon inspection appeared to be a genuine 176.007 chronograph. It came in the mail today, and I'd appreciate any opinions as to its authenticity. I'm a newb to these watches, but based on the research I did (after the purchase, of course) it looks like the hands aren't original as I haven't seen photos of any other 007s with this style. The case back is heavily polished, but there are still signs of the original brushed starburst on the case front. The crystal is signed, but needs some polishing. Everything appears to function, all chrono hands reset to zero. Here are some photos I just took (the movement photo is from the ad, I haven't tried opening the case):
    IMG_0800.JPG IMG_0801.JPG IMG_0803.JPG IMG_0804.JPG IMG_0806.JPG
    2.jpg

176-007 Wrist Shot.jpg

So what did I buy?

Thanks for the opportunity to participate in the forum!
    Kevin

TNTwatch and TexasKevin like this.
  2. ketiljo Feb 17, 2015

Hi Kevin and welcome!

You got it right the first time, pictures and everything.

The Seamaster is as genuine as they come, no doubt about that. Seems it's in pretty good condition. The chrono minute hand should be orange, but it may just be faded. Else it looks correct. Get some Polywatch and polish the crystal. A service may be in order at some point though.

cheers,
    Ketil

3. kworcester Feb 17, 2015

Thanks Ketil. This was quite the impulse buy, but it looked to be a good deal if genuine. And I'm a sucker for blue faces!

4. Firewood Feb 17, 2015