Forums Latest Members
  1. Albert Blue Apr 8, 2017

Hello all.. New to forum and did a search but came up a bit uncertain about having my watch serviced. I have a 1963 Railmaster with a white face. It was a gift from my father back in 1976. It's occasionally worn, keeps good time but I've not have it serviced in many years. I left it with the factory store in NYC for a service and have been advised that the hands are no longer available and have to be replaced for the watch to be serviced.

I'm interested in keeping it as original as possible but more importantly would like it to be in good working order. I've read on this forum of somewhat spotty attention to detail during a factory service. Question: does it kill the value of the watch if the original hands are replaced? I have instructed the rep who is assisting me to show me any parts prior to servicing. They said they would try to match the original hands as closely as possible. Thoughts?

I do not have the original band and no intent of selling but would prefer not to destroy the value of this piece. Thanks in advance for your input.

image.jpeg
  2. noelekal Home For Wayward Watches Apr 8, 2017

3. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Apr 8, 2017

noelekal, gemini4 and AveConscientia like this.
  4. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Apr 8, 2017

Did they say what was wrong with the original hands?

You may be able to convince them to reuse them.

Safer would be, as noelekal says, collect the watch and visit an independent.

Cool watch btw!

AveConscientia likes this.
  5. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Apr 8, 2017

Likely nothing. Omega replaces the hands as part of a service. The good news is they give you they return the originals which can be put back on.

6. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Apr 8, 2017

Yes, they usually do. But in my experience, they can be convinced to keep original Parts if you can speak with someone directly, usually the master watchmaker (aka supervisor).

7. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Apr 8, 2017