Forums Latest Members
  1. s30n9g Jul 1, 2014

Hello guys.
    I'm new here.
    Just a quick query.
    Does this look legit?

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/171371251523Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

2. repoman Jul 1, 2014

Watch looks legit to me, but I'm not an expert (i'm sure several of the really expert people around here will chime in). Pictures aren't that great, but the case, dial, bezel, bracelet and case back all look right to me. Case back looks polished, but the lugs seem to have good lines still and not overly polished in any way, to my eye. I don't know if the box is correct for this watch (meaning I'm not expert enough to say). I would take exception with the sellers description about "unique" aspects of this watch. All Speedmaster Professionals have the anti-magnetic plate (I've recently been educated about this myself). The script used for "Speedmaster" looks correct for the period, and thus is not a unique feature per se. More info on that is here: http://chronomaddox.com/speedy_dial_details.html

Most folks around here will tell you its a good idea to get a photo of the inner case back, and the movement, as a further check on legitimacy of the piece, and condition of the movement.

3. s30n9g Jul 1, 2014

4. s30n9g Jul 1, 2014

[​IMG]

5. s30n9g Jul 1, 2014

But surely the model number can't be 3570.50 if it's pre-moon?

6. Davidt Jul 1, 2014

Unless I've missed it somewhere in the ad, it doesn't claim to be a pre-moon. It looks like a normal late 80's/90's moonwatch to me.

7. repoman Jul 1, 2014

This is not pre-moon, nor is it claimed to be. This is what I mentioned in my first post, the sketchy description in the Ebay ad. The only reference to "pre-moon" in the ad is as follows:

1) It has an Anti-Magnetic tough armour plate on the inside, to protect the movement of the watch and this was used in the Original pre-moon Speedmasters