Forums Latest Members
  1. Ricbo2010 Jan 14, 2018

Hi, I am a complete novice when it comes to photography but would like to be able to take good close up shots of my watch collection. A friend of mine has given me his Nikon D3300 to play around with. It comes with an 18-105mm lens but no macro.

I'm not sure whether to buy this combo from him and in addition purchase a macro lens and tripod, or buy one of the macro lens attachments you can attach to an iPhone.

I'd only really use the camera for watch shots and cannot imagine getting seriously into photography.

Can anyone please recommend a macro lens to go with the above camera within say £100 (is that even possible?!)

If I go for a phone lens, can they still be used if my phone is upgraded or will I have to buy a new one each time I upgrade. I believe I could buy something decent for less than £100.

I have been reading various posts on this forum and that has been very helpful but would be very grateful for any advice from the knowledgeable OF members.

Thanks!

2. Canuck Jan 14, 2018

Your Nikon should have a macro setting. With proper lighting and camera set up,this should give reasonably good results. For really close photography, an accessory lens would likely be an asset. Can a cell phone camera compete with a quality DSLR camera? I suppose it depends on the cell phone and technique.

Ricbo2010 and Foo2rama like this.
  3. alfanator Jan 14, 2018

Setting up the shot is more important than the gear. Lighting in particular.

Ricbo2010 likes this.
  4. Canuck Jan 14, 2018

+1. A backpacker’s tripod is an asset that will contribute to good images. And once you are set up, adjust your camera to delay the shot for a couple seconds after you trip the shutter. Camera shake is a huge cause of bad focus. Once you learn how to get good results, photography can become addictive. Now if only I could consistently get results that are as good of some of my better shots.:(

Ricbo2010 likes this.