Forums Latest Members

Does A Vintage Watch Need Service If It Keeps Good Time?

1. mementomori1983 Jun 17, 2013

So I got around to timing my Cal 565 Geneve Admiralty by leaving it at my desk for 40 hours, and it timed at +1 second for that timeframe. The service history of the watch is unknown.

When my watchmaker opened the watch past Saturday, he stated that the watch should be serviced as the "insides look sticky" (not really sure what he meant). But if that's the case, wouldn't the watch be running slow?

My question is, is service warranted for a vintage watch if it is keeping good time? I'm a relative newbie to this so I'd appreciate some second opinions. :)

2. UncleBuck understands the decision making hierarchy Jun 17, 2013

Do you only change the oil in your car when the engine starts knocking?
    If you value the timepiece, think of servicing it as an investment or as a sign of respect for the craftsmanship.
    If it's going to be used, treat it like you would a good woman...........service it regularly !!

3. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Jun 17, 2013

If you hang around here long enough, you'll see it repeated all the time...always have a watch serviced. Remember that when the "regulars" here see your new purchase, we have no way of knowing (like you) when it was last serviced. Just because a movement looks clean doesn't mean that it is in perfect condition.

For my part, I can tell you that I've not had every watch I've ever purchased immediately serviced. But I don't wear my watches every day. At most they get one to two days a month of wear. Some much less than that. However, all have at least been inspected by a watchmaker at to the condition of the movement and whether it is safe to run on an occasional basis. I observe the timekeeping using an atomic clock app when I wear watches that haven't been serviced. When I notice a significant change or inconsistency in timekeeping, then off it goes.