Forums Latest Members

Do we need a min. Post count before creating a thread?

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. al128 unsolicited co-moderation giverer Sep 24, 2016

I'm sick of those "just found this watch in a drawer, tell me how much is worth" (the ones with out hello and thank you...)

Verbatim copy of an entire 1st post:

Where I can get an appraisal for a Omega Watch ?

Your thoughts on e.g. needing at least 10/20/25 posts before earning the "create new thread" privilege?

2. cicindela Steve @ ΩF Staff Member Sep 24, 2016

Not going to happen. Over kill.

3. cvrle1 Sep 24, 2016

While I am really new to OF, I dont think your idea works in general. If number of needed posts is low, like you said 10-20, it opens up a can of worms where people will on purpose post junk replies to every message they can, so that they can get to that magic number. If number is high (like 200) that kills the forum, as no new members come, as they cant post an ask questions.

Now, in regards to manners and please and thank you, that I agree on. When I do post a thread where I ask for help, I do try to show that I did some research, I post what I think and do say please and ty. That to me is basis of civilized communication. I am not going to go up to someone on the street and just start talking, I will say hi first and thank them for help if any was given. Unfortunately, as mentioned before by many others, this is lost on people these days.

Dmaskeze and Traveler like this.
  4. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Sep 24, 2016

@al128 You would only get 10 useless posts before the one thread that annoys you.

Have a 10 post rule on a fishing forum I am on and I doesn't work

5. oddboy Zero to Grail+2998 In Six Months Sep 24, 2016