Forums Latest Members
  1. IanES Oct 22, 2019

I have a speedmaster triple date Automatic. I got it with a silver colored dial, silver subdials, silver battons and steel hands.

As I got older I could no longer see the time without my reading glasses.

I had the watch service BY AN AUTHORIZED UK SERVICE DEALER and requested that they also change the dial for a black one. I can now tell the time at a glance.

But. Do I have a frankenwatch? Would Omega reject a request for an extract? It certainly isn't original anymore? Maybe the dial is a modern one or a service dial?

2. asrnj77 Oct 22, 2019

I can’t see your picture:)

DaveK likes this.
  3. IanES Oct 22, 2019

Sorry. I didn't post a picture. Just asked if the fact that an AD changed the dial now means that I now have a frankenwatch. After all, it no longer matches the records at Omega.

4. kov Trüffelschwein. Oct 22, 2019

Three different questions.

Yes, as soon as you're pretending it to be something it is not. But you can cal it modded ;)

You have to try to find out. Why would you need an extract for an automatic triple date Speedmaster?

Maybe you could post a picture to get a better answer to this question :)

connieseamaster and DaveK like this.
  5. IanES Oct 22, 2019

Sorry. Don't have a picture of the original silver dial. This is the one fitted by AD.

tripledate1024x768.jpg

6. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Oct 22, 2019

Based on the photo, yes this is now a frankenwatch.

Omega allows conversions of watches, but it must be a complete conversion from one model to another model where they both share the same movement. To the best of my knowledge, Omega never made a watch like the one you have now, with a black dial, Cal. 1151, and a silver polished bezel. So you have a mix of parts from different models, which is something Omega doesn't condone.

Cheers, Al

kkt, kov and IanES like this.
  7. IanES Oct 22, 2019

Thank you very much Al. That's the kind of info I was hoping for. :)