Forums Latest Members
  1. nye307 Jan 27, 2013

So, I'm a doctoral student with access to some fancy statistical analysis software and always looking for ways to procrastinate. After spending a great deal of time looking at 50s/60s Omegas on ebay I noticed a great deal of variation in prices for seemingly comparable watches. The question is, what is it that makes a steal versus a steep price? My guess is that there is something involved other than chance. It occurred to me that it would be possible to run some regressions in Stata and figure out scientifically what factors contribute to prices other than qualities collectors look for.

For instance, if the end day of the bidding is on a saturday or after working hours in certain places it might contribute to higher prices because more people who aren't using last minute bidding services are available to engage in bidding war. Or possibly, if the seller starts out the bidding at a fixed amount versus 0 does that contribute to final price? Number of pictures? Etc.

The problem is I don't know enough to pinpoint all of the relevant variables or to judge how different watches compare on those parameters. However, with a little bit of cooperative effort I could fairly accurately figure out if there are any objective reasons why comparable items sell for different amounts and post the results for the benefit of the community. The corollary of this is that members on the forum would have concrete information as to both how to get the highest amount possible for watches they are selling and how to find the best possible deals with less effort.