Forums Latest Members

Debating a Mitsukoshi swap but keep running into hiccups

1. brokenblinker Feb 16, 2019

As the title mentions, I have been dreaming about a Mitsukoshi dial swap for a couple of years now. I started thinking more seriously about it this week, and found an Omega service center that said they would be willing to perform the dial/hand swap (and order the parts for me) pending an evaluation of the watch to make sure it didn't need service. I took the watch by today, and they told me that I need a service and it would be $750 on top of ordering the parts. They quoted me $400 for the dial purchase (which is a steal compared to ebay prices), but said they won't know if its on backorder until they try to order it.

I bought my 3572.50 about 2 years ago, and it had supposedly been serviced 1 year prior (so a total of 3 years ago). It generally keeps about +2s/day on the wrist (not sure off the wrist, whenever I'm wearing my other watches I don't keep it fully wound. Attached is the timegrapher output they provided. They told me they would want it to be between 0 and 5s in all positions (which seems ridiculous to me as that is near master chronometer specs). Any thoughts? Any other ways to perform this swap at a reasonable price?

IMG_20190216_111830.jpg
    Edited Feb 16, 2019
    robinhook likes this.
  2. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Feb 16, 2019

You also need hands. I’m also not sure they can get the parts anymore.

Also note it’s not an omega service center, but someone with a parts account.

3. BradleyJ. Feb 16, 2019

Is it possible it wasnt serviced when the person said it was? Maybe the reason for "needing" a service is due to the oils and not the time issue.

Since you're doing the swap maybe it is a good idea to freshen the whole package up?

If you genuinely dont want the service, cant you just turn it down?

4. brokenblinker Feb 16, 2019

These are good questions. They won't do the swap without a service.