Forums Latest Members
  1. -dR- Feb 16, 2020

I’m new here... please be (relatively) nice.

I picked this up a few days ago due to the unusual (IMHOj coloured dial. Before splashing out on a new strap, though I’d ask the collective a couple of questions:

- is it a wrong ‘un? Not been able to find a yellow dial photo on a seamaster cosmic.

- what strap would it normally have been fitted with?

- what strap would anyone advise to go on it... BTW it’s very yellow!

Sorry about images... there is not much natural light here due to an epic storm!

image.jpg image.jpg image.jpg
  2. wilderbeast Feb 16, 2020

Welcome to the forum!

I’m no expert, but this looks like a redial to me, on the basis that the Seamaster script is off and the lettering on Cosmic also doesn’t look right either. I’ve also not seen a dial this lurid on a Cosmic. But it looks like a fun watch to wear. I’d put it on a black NATO with a central yellow stripe, or similar. A black leather strap would work well, too, but I might be tempted to go with navy blue just to be a little different. There are plenty of threads here where you can see what is around - try the WRUW (What are You Wearing) thread for starters.

If you haven’t got proof of service history, I would recommend having an independent watchmaker look it over and give it a service. If it hasn’t been done for a while, then the oils around the parts can dry up and cause issues. Freshly serviced it will last a good few years of no-hassle running. Depending on where you are, factor in a couple of hundred of your local currency for this. Once serviced, wear it and enjoy it! The movements in these are good workhorses and it will be a reliable daily wearer.

I believe these would have come on a leather strap originally.