Forums Latest Members
  1. Brad Cancian Jun 30, 2012

Hi all,

Picked this one up recently and have just had it land on the doorstep. I am very new to watch collecting (have only really been studying vintage Constellations, and only really for the last couple of weeks) but have read most of the articles on Desmond's Omega Constellation Collector blog, and recognised it as what I think is known as the "last" pie pan model produced, the cal 1011 in the 165.0065 case. It appears that this watch was produced in the mid 1970s for the Japanese market only:

http://omega-constellation-collecto.../07/last-omega-constellation-piepan-left.html
    http://users.tpg.com.au/mondodec//Last_Omega_Constellation_Pie_Pan.pdf

Having carefully read through Desmond's articles above, and closely compared his excellent pics, I think from what I can see I have a good one. All seems to match up from what I can see?

Some pics I just took:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

I don't have the tools to open the back of the case and check the innards, but these pics were provided from the seller:

[​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

The watch has been worn and exhibits quite light surface scratching but is generally in excellent condition - everything seems to work well and it so far is keeping good time (though I hadn't wound it when I took the pics). There is no discolouration to the dial or any of the dial hardware (apologies as my pictures under direct lamp light seem to "pop out" the light scratches, it really looks quite clean in the hand). Edges all appear sharp and the watch doesn't look like it was ever polished?