Forums Latest Members
  1. tim_fss Jun 25, 2015

Hello guys, I'm a newbie here and I'd like to thank you already for so much information that I've been able to reach in such a short time.

I bought my first vintage watch last month, an Omega Constellation 14900, caliber 551. Maybe I have rushed a little, because now I realize that I haven't done all the proper research that I could have.

So, could you please be so kind as to give me some feedback on my new watch? Does it look ok? I'm not sensitive to critics, so please tell me all that you can see in the pics below.

The watch is running well and keeping time, I just changed the leather strap for a black croc with Omega symbols (most probably not original).

Thanks so much in advance!

Tim

$_57.JPG $_57 (1).JPG $_57 (2).JPG $_57 (3).JPG $_57 (4).JPG $_57 (5).JPG $_57 (6).JPG $_57 (7).JPG $_57 (8).JPG $_57 (9).JPG $_57 (10).JPG
  2. sliceoftime_ Jun 25, 2015

Not an expert, but IMHO the dial has been cleaned or retouched.

A dead giveaway is the crooked star, no swiss made.

tim_fss likes this.
  3. MSNWatch Vintage Omega Aficionado Staff Member Jun 25, 2015

It is a clear redial with the movement showing age and the case polished heavily. I would advise a return if possible.

4. Lessismore Pro Constellation picker-outter! Jun 25, 2015

this is a mess, re-dial, case is too polished, wrong hangs, movement looks tired, very tired... shall I continue?

5. tim_fss Jun 25, 2015

Thanks! How can you tell that the movement looks tired?

6. tim_fss Jun 25, 2015

Thanks!

Why is a redial so bad? Isn't it supposed to make the dial look better than those old "musty" dials? I understand that a collector would like to have the original dial, but if one wants to wear the watch everyday...?

If I look for an original dial that matches the watch and an original case, would it make it a "franken" without value or would it be reinstated to a good shape?

7. Lessismore Pro Constellation picker-outter! Jun 25, 2015