Forums Latest Members
  1. n-theory Aug 15, 2015

Hello braintrust,
    First post to the forum so please be gentle. I'm a die hard vintage Hamilton man but I'm considering broadening a bit after seeing an Omega Flightmaster at a local watchmaker. It was nearly love at first sight. The watch is in good overall condition with the original band, fair to good case with "radiant" brush lines, faded but visible plane on case back, and is in good running condition. According to the watchmaker, he bought from the original owner (cough) [​IMG]But as a newer watch enthusiast (and not a rich one) I've been doing lots of research; but still have a few lingering questions and concerns (particularly around the dial). I've posted my hastily taken, crappy photos. I'm completely new to Omegas so any help or pointing to resources would be appreciated.

1) Dial
    -Is Exactly what color should the dial be with appropriate patina? Should it be grey on the inner ring and brown in the sub-dials?
    -Should there be tritium lume dots at the 3,6,9 position like the ones on either side of the Omega logo? This was doesn't.
    -Should the large second hand, and the sub-dails at 3 and 6 both be orange hands or yellow or was this variable by year?
    -Do Omega service dials have "T-Swiss-T"? I'm basically trying to figure out if the dial is original or not. Gut says no.

2) Pushers
    -Most of the color has gone off the pushers. If I purchase this watch, should I replace them? If replaced with other vintage sets, will value be maintained?

3) Overall
    -How many years where they produced? I've heard '69-73 but also heard until mid-late 70s.
    -Is the AM/PM (I think 910?) version any more or less valuable? Is the Cal. 910/911 movement better/worse, cheaper/more expensive to service, etc.