Forums Latest Members
  1. Newtonyul Aug 28, 2018

Hello all. First post in this forum. As the title says I am a complete newb to the watch game. Though I fear I've recently fallen down the rabbit hole after purchasing an SKX013. Anyways, I've inherited my grandfathers Omega Seamaster 600. As well my father gave me his Seamaster Cosmic. The 600 does work though I've only wound it a few turns just to check. The Cosmic was also working but the dial had rotated in the case so the crown was not engaging with the movement. I managed to rotate the dial back and engage the crown. Super pleased with myself! Did a little research and was able to find a little info on the Cosmic. Although it's very difficult to see the I.D. number on the back is 166026-TOOL107. Was less successful with the 600. Would really appreciate any info anyone might be able to pass on on what exactly I have here. I'm pretty sure neither strap is original. I'd like to get them serviced. Any thoughts on what I could expect to pay? I've figured out that neither are going to allow me to retire early but an idea of what if any value they have would also be appreciated. Thanks for any info you might provide.
    Cheers!
    IMG_2395.JPG IMG_2396.JPG IMG_2397.JPG IMG_2398.JPG IMG_2399.JPG IMG_2400.JPG IMG_2405.JPG IMG_2403.JPG IMG_2404.JPG

2. Vanallard Aug 29, 2018

Welcome to OF!

You can find some info about the Cosmic by doing a Google search of the reference number (166.026). The following is some info from the vintage Omega database for that particular model:

https://www.omegawatches.com/watch-omega-seamaster-cosmic-st-166-0026

You’ll need to remove the back of the SM 600 in order to date the watch (based on the serial number) and find out more info about the movement. It likely has a cal. 601 movement and my guess is that the reference number is either 135.001 or 135.012.

Both watches likely date back to the mid-60s.