Forums Latest Members

Chipped crystals in vintage timepieces: what to do?

1. valkyrie_rider Dec 3, 2018

Gentlemen

I'm new to the game of collecting vintage timepieces and would appreciate some guidance.

What is the advisable route in this scenario: vintage speedmaster from the 70's with chipped mineral glass.

Should I:
    a) Pass and wait for a watch with no chips in the crystal.

b) Buy the watch and replace the crystal right away!

c) Unless it is something really bad, just keep it as it is ... it adds charm (?) to a vintage timepiece.

Any thoughts?

Edited Dec 3, 2018
  2. Millenary Watches Dec 3, 2018

Hmm this is a good question. I dislike chips in the glass, and I would probably have the glass changed and save the old one. But I think it comes down to what you prefer. If you don't mind it, just leave it as it is:)

3. boogedyboo Dec 3, 2018

Replacement crytals can be easily found so as long as the rest of the watch is good, I would say go for the watch.

Whether you should replace the crystal depends on the severity of the chips but a new crystal can breathe new life into the watch.

connieseamaster likes this.
  4. kelev_ra Dec 3, 2018

Replacement crystals don't cost really much. And my watchmaker changes them for 5 bucks...

5. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Dec 3, 2018

Depends on the watch. It’s not normally hard to find a replacement though.

6. eugeneandresson 'I used a hammer, a chisel, and my fingers' Dec 3, 2018

Replacement is easy / cheap. A watchmaker worth his weight in gold can also polish it out, thus keeping the original crystal with the watch, which has become somewhat fashionable of late.