Forums Latest Members

Checking the current accuracy of my watch...

1. SunTiger Jun 17, 2020

Hi guys.. Simple question here..

I have a 10 year old Sea Master 300m, never serviced (yet).. and wanted to see how it's doing. So, I started keeping track using the site time.is. I looked at my watch, unscrewed the crown and waited until the sweeping second hand stopped perfectly at "12" and stopped it. Then, set the time and waited for the exact moment the time.is site matched and pushed the crown in. I started a log, and wanted to see how it does for a week, and month etc.

So far, its been 3 days. I have made some interesting observations and want to ask..

In the first 24hrs it lost 5 seconds. This was me wearing the watch the whole time (just not in the shower). This means, I wore it to bed as well.

Then.. the next evening, I decided to lay it flat while overnight. This did in fact prevent too much more loss. In fact, by morning it had only lost 1 additional second. From there, I put the watch on.. and wore it until the next night. During the day around 3pm (when the test started) I took note, and it was now running -7sec for a full 48hrs. By that evening, it was -8sec. Again, took it off overnight resting face up.. and this morning it was the same, -8sec. Wore the watch now for a few hours and now has dropped another sec. (-9)

My point, and question is this..