Forums Latest Members

Cartier Tank Louis Ref. 15705 Early 1970s (Pre Must)

1. Hensley Nov 9, 2023

I recently acquired a ‘Pre Must’ Cartier Tank Louis with reference no. 15705 that I believe dates back to the early 1970s. It was made during the time when the Cartier boutiques were operated separately in New York, Paris and London.

I would love to know more about this watch so if there are others out there who own this piece, please share some photos and information on when and where it was purchased! I am no expert so all the information that is written in this post have been compiled after hours of research.

This Pre Must Tank has a manual wind Cartier 78X movement (ETA 2512 base). Later manual wind Must models from the late 1970s use the Cartier 78-1 movement (ETA 2512-1 base) instead.

Its size is approximately 30mm height by 23mm width excluding the crown, making it the model for men at that time.

This post only includes pictures of pieces with screw on case backs and punched logo, which is said to be from the New York boutique. Pieces with snap-on case backs have been excluded as they seem to be far more common.

After hours of scouring the internet, these are the information I could find.

From the internet:
    - Ref. 15705 Tank Louis is from the New York boutique
    - Due to the use of a patented screw-on case back, back then in the early 1970s, this particular reference could not be faked.
    - Gold plated over base metal (likely brass)

From observation:
    - White dial with SWISS under VI
    - Elongated blue carbochon crown
    - Earlier serial numbers seem to have a thicker crown
    - Unlike the Must series, there is no hidden Cartier mark on VII, or on X like other modern pieces
    - The first number 4 on the case back seem to indicate that this is for men. The smaller sized pieces with the same case back markings start with a 1
    - The original buckle for the strap has a double C logo that looks very similar to Chanel