Forums Latest Members

Can anyone help identifying a Speedmaster supposedly 1965 (edited)?

1. giampi Jun 5, 2017

Hi Everybody,

can anyone help me with an approximate date an model of this speedmaster? I'm completely new to this, but from what I've understood so far the flatlink bracelet is a 1039 with 4 71 engraved. The second hand is a bit odd as I was only able to find similar models that seem to be from before 1971 pointing to a 381 movement, also the bezel seems to be of a more recent, non DON type. Backside of the watch is also a bit strange because all logo and hippo are quite worn.
    Thanks for any help you can provide! :)

DSCN4205.JPG DSCN4206.JPG DSCN4208.JPG DSCN4209.JPG DSCN4210.JPG DSCN4212.JPG DSCN4220.JPG
  2. bags1971 Jun 5, 2017

my limited knowledge seconds hand looks like a seamaster 300 dial looks pre 69 bracelet is later as is bezel

3. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Jun 5, 2017

From what you show, it might be a 105.012-65.

Suggest you order up one of these and open it up, get the serial and the caseback reference.

Aqw1942, Pahawi and BenBagbag like this.
  4. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Jun 5, 2017

those Pushers are interesting - possibly a bestfit? Clearly the watch had some service work, perhaps when the bracelet was fitted, along with the bezel.

Foo2rama likes this.
  5. giampi Jun 5, 2017

Ok, thanks for your help! Does that mean pushers, bracelet and bezel were added later on, possibly during servicing? Seems like a valuable piece, so is it stupid to wear it every day, obviously being cautious?
    Cheerz

6. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Jun 5, 2017

If it were my watch I would definitely service it and see what it is I actually have.
    I would not wear it until then.
    Others might.
    It is quite valuable but not crazy. It lacks the correct bezel and pushers, and has an out of date bracelet. But even so it is probably $6000+ as is