Forums Latest Members

Buy from an authorised retailer, but DON'T pay retail!

1. Mattrix Feb 25, 2012

Hi all. I'm new to premium watches, having just ordered my first, an Omega Seamaster Chronometer 300M. I did a stack of research before handing over my money and set out to get a small discount from an authorised retailer if I could. The London Omega boutique wouldn't budge a penny, but I got a couple of Jewellers to offer discounts, and quite accidentally without any real effort managed to get £450 off the £2700 watch. So whatever you do - don't pay the asking price!

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Feb 25, 2012

Which one did you end up with, is it the new ceramic version?

3. loyal blue Feb 25, 2012

I saved £300 when I bought my PO
    If you don't ask , you don't get

4. Mattrix Feb 25, 2012

Yeah, it's the new ceramic.

Trev likes this.
  5. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Feb 25, 2012

Nice mate, you got some pics for us?

6. Mattrix Feb 26, 2012

I will have but not yet, the watch they had in the store had a slightly misaligned bezel so they're ordering in a new one. Officially the watch is meant to be my birthday present from the Mrs, so you may have to wait until after the big day for photos - sorry!

7. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Feb 26, 2012

Nicely done, definitely keep her!

Is this your first really good watch or do you have some others?

8. Mattrix Feb 26, 2012

No it's the first 'proper' watch. I've owned a few nice Seikos and Citizens over the years, but nothing worth more than a few hundred.

9. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Feb 26, 2012

You'll really notice the difference in finishing and feel, the new ceramics even better put together than the previous versions.

10. bio Feb 27, 2012

Congratulation on your new watch. The new PO is absolutely gorgeous and I hope I can get one someday too. You have a wonderful wife:)