Forums Latest Members

Building a collection with new or old Speedmaster models

1. weimi1 Oct 24, 2019

Good morning, after I've been working on the subject of Speedmaster for a few years, I wonder if at the moment it's even worth investing in older models. Prices have risen sharply in the last year. Would you if you wanted to build a collection now rather build on the new models or take the older models in the collection, even if their prices are sometimes extremely high at the moment.
    Example:
    Speedmaster 3692.30 last year in the fullset for around 14,000 euros. At the moment, already around 22,000 euros are called.

If you knew that the prices would continue to develop, it would not be a question. But at any price I would not want to strike.

2. STANDY schizophrenic pizza orderer and watch collector Oct 24, 2019

My collection

1st bought in 2013 (I am making my own vintage and wearing it like it’s stolen)
    5A18AE72-7F0F-47A4-A320-B50BC971415D.jpeg

2nd
    936D7B71-E735-4706-9940-732C6155DF6B.jpeg
    3rd
    50932F5A-B2C4-45A8-9754-495196DABCDE.jpeg

Will I keep going, maybe a ST 3 ? Don’t know would have to see it.

Wasn’t interested in the 50th, wasn’t interested in Snoopy

I live remote, tropical with humidity so not interested in vintage Speedmasters, could have bought before the rush but decided a modern fitted where I live and what I do for work. ( if I was a city slicker with a suit job I may have bought vintage )

3 bits of advice
    Buy what you like.
    Wear them.
    You don’t loose money if you don’t sell them.

3. VjaceCZ Oct 24, 2019

First of all you should decide whether you collect or invest or do both.

If you collect, don't look at the prices and collect what you like, what you love, what makes sense to you.