Forums Latest Members
  1. kechke Jan 21, 2015

Hi, new member here. This site was recommended by Robert-Jan from Frattelo watches.
    I have a Speedmaster Professional that I purchased new 1967 in Vienna Austria.
    The timepiece was worn daily for a number of years and then put away about 15 years ago. Looking at it recently, I have found that I was unable to get the mainspring wound up.
    A local watchmaker has offered to repair it for 250.00 dollars. I really don't want to spend that much to get it fixed.
    Robert-Jan suggested that ask on this forum if any one knows of a Canadian repair facility that could do the repair for a more reasonable fee.
    Thanks in advance for any assistance.

2. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jan 21, 2015

250 is very cheap, give a '67 Speedy Pro is a valuable watch I'd be wanting to pay a bit more and get a full service done by someone that handles them frequently, that might sound expensive in the short term but screwing up a 321 moonwatch can cost a hell of a lot more than 250.

Archer likes this.
  3. Archer Omega Qualified Watchmaker Jan 21, 2015

Not me! ;)

Cheers, Al

4. kechke Jan 21, 2015

Thanks for the speedy reply.
    I have been told that if I send it to an Omega certified repair facility that a full service done on the watch that some parts like the dial and hands may be replaced and reduce the value of the watch.

5. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jan 21, 2015

I'd find a quality independent that works on 321 regularly, there's a few in the US I know of that could do a good job, I'm not familiar with many others in Canada.

6. kechke Jan 21, 2015

If you could recommend some I would appreciate it. I am near the Buffalo NY area on the Canadian side.

7. dsio Ash @ ΩF Staff Member Jan 21, 2015

Can you post some pics of the watch btw?

If you could do New York @MSNWatch might have a guy you could use

8. TNTwatch Jan 21, 2015