Forums Latest Members
  1. Yelbic Jun 29, 2013

I have a 1967 Speedmaster Professional with a Cal 321 movement. It was my Dad's and he was the second owner. It has an orange chronograph hand on it and I am trying to determine if this was a fluke or did some Speedmasters have the orange hand.

I want to restore the watch to like new condition and have located numerous crystals, and hand sets but the Tachymetre dial is just soooo pricey. Would I be foolish to use an aftermarket that I see all over Ebay?

It is running well and is going to be lubed and oiled as part of the rebuild.

I also have a 1972 Omega Seamaster Chronograph which I am told is known as a Soccer Watch. It has a white and red face and it is mint condition.

I do not have the watch in my possession at this time so I cannot send pics or answer more questions. It is at the Watchmaker. He is good but not a historian on Omega.

2. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder Jun 29, 2013

If you really "restore" this 321 to "as new" then you will surely destroy its appeal to almost everyone who reads this forum.
    At the very least you will turn a highly desirable, and possibly quite valuable example, into an undesirable one. Certainly you will break many hearts!

I also think I will have full agreement when I say that no one would fit an after market bezel on a 321.

Orange seconds have found their way onto more than one speedmaster. I am not sure if they came out of the factory, but the hands when fitted to watches I have seen are omega parts. Possibly fitted by special order. I think they look good. It will be interesting to see the hand in situ, and make a judgement based on patina how long it had been fitted.