Forums Latest Members

Best option for servicing a "neo-vintage" Speedmaster?

1. cgaites Sep 24, 2019

Hello all,

I have a Speedmaster from the mid-90s with tritium hands and a tritium dial. It has started running a bit fast, and its starting to feel like it may be time to have it serviced. I know that for a real vintage Speedy, the answer is to avoid Omega for service and to instead seek out a competent independent watchmaker. My question is, in my case where I have what I'll call a "neo-vintage" watch - not really vintage, but some visual differences from the modern reference - is this still the best advice?

I like the idea of a two year warranty directly from Omega, but worry that they will replace the dial and hands which give the watch its somewhat unique character. Is Omega good when it comes to following directions to avoid replacing specific parts, or is it more hit or miss? They've always been good at returning old parts when they've serviced my modern pieces, so I suppose the stakes are low. Nonetheless, would rather not have to pay to have the dial and hands swapped back after the service (and presumably void the warranty) if that is the most likely outcome of an Omega service.

Thank you!

2. DaveK Yoda of Yodelers Sep 24, 2019

Post some photos you shall

yoda_400x400.jpg

Yelfel and Sidnos like this.
  3. Ville_W Sep 24, 2019

You already answered your own question. If you want to avoid the risk that Omega replace parts go to an independent watch maker. They also have warranties. May be not 2 years but you can’t get everything.

4. 1965Speedie Sep 24, 2019

Nesbit's gives a two-year guarantee on their watch servicing, and it's transferable should you sell the watch before then. They also seem happy to let you choose which parts to keep, if you want to preserve a patina.

5. Davidt Sep 24, 2019

Where are you located?

6. cgaites Sep 24, 2019