Forums Latest Members

Anyone willing to offer an opinion on vintage OMEGA on ebay?

1. Delphic.bee Aug 28, 2013

Hello-

I'm a watch newbie looking to purchase a solid, not too pricey, vintage Omega for every day use. I'm interested in the vintage ladymatics and have been trying to figure out if this one on ebay is authentic.
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Retro-Omega...195466543?pt=Wristwatches&hash=item4ac8bddf2fPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

This is a re-listing of the same watch, the original list did not include the image of the movement (though the one included in the new listing is a pretty poor image). Also I have asked for an image of the inside of the case or verification of numbers so that I can attempt to authenticate it but the seller does not seem willing to provide this info or a clear image of movement.. hmmm- I may have already answered my own question about authenticity- no?
    I've been searching the interwebs but have had no luck finding any information on what year this watch style was produced, if the area around the movement should have those letters or little cut marks, or if this watch should have unadjusted or adjusted movement... I hate asking for unsolicited advice, and if there are any sellers here I'd prefer to support this community than take my chances on ebay. I looked at the vintage watches for sale on this site but didn't see any ladymatics offered- though as a watch newbie it could very well be that I am mistaken in what this watch style is called :)

Thanks in advance!

2. Privateday7 quotes Miss Universe Aug 28, 2013

I think it is more like 60-70 style but I could be wrong. Definetely not a Ladymatic since it is a manual wind movement.
    For me it looks legit, but definitely clearer picture in movement (to see the caliber and serial number which then lead to a better period range of manufacturing year) and inside case back (to see the reference number).