Forums Latest Members

Any Reef Keepers? Show Off Your Coral and Fish (of the Swimming Variety)

1. ilayd Oct 16, 2019

I wanted to see if any of you fine folk also indulge yourself with the saltwater hobby. Personally, I enjoy the challenge of keeping these extremely sensitive critters in a suitable environment while getting the benefit of enjoying the out-of-this-world vibes. Not unlike the watch hobby, I find that with keeping a saltwater aquarium, you have to do tremendous amounts of research, have very good patience, and dodge risks. I have been keeping saltwater fish and coral since 2011, with a 2 year break while I was away living in Virginia.

Currently, I have two aquariums, one being a 25 gallon 18 inch cube (this is considered a nano tank due to its "small" size). Additionally, I am currently in the middle of setting up a 75 gallon tank (36in x 24in x 20in). Now on to some pictures.

Here is the full tank shot (FTS) of the nano aquarium...

IMG_8973.JPG

IMG_8072.JPG

Some close-ups of the corals and critters

IMG_6482.JPG

IMG_6696.JPG

IMG_6928.JPG

IMG_7090.JPG

IMG_7100.JPG

IMG_7129.JPG

IMG_7264.JPG

IMG_8742.JPG

And here is the view of the bigger 75 gallon tank... this one currently has no coral (it does have fish now compared to when the pictures were taken).

M18_7588.JPG

M18_7578.JPG

Hopefully I am not the only member here who also enjoys this hobby.

michael e, KeithS, Shabbaz and 16 others like this.
  2. Steve9pm Strangely obsessed with cheap manual wind watches. Oct 16, 2019

Really cool. I don’t know much about it, but could you answer a few quick questions?

How much can one expect this hobby to cost (initial and maintenance)? How much time do you spend cleaning/changing the water?

3. ilayd Oct 16, 2019