Forums Latest Members
  1. gadssen83 Mar 8, 2018

Hi, I'm new to this hobby and tend to get my very first vintage watch after 2 months of research and studies. Seamaster D/D automatic 166.0216 cal.1020 would be my first choice at the moment.

Recently I come across this watch which I'm really interested in. Seller claims it's 100% original, circa 1982, movement was serviced last month and working very strong & keeping time, NOT repainted silver dial with original hands, Omega marked acrylic glass, original Omega signed crown, clean original SS bracelet. No box no papers. Overall condition very good. Selling at $625.

As a complete novice, I understand that I have to do some research myself.

- Serial number check, 45xxxxxx, it’s 1982 as described.
    - I avoid repainted/restored/refurbished dial, gold plated case or over-polished case. Though the watch looks been polished before, but I might be wrong, please advice.
    - Dial - looks mint and not repainted, but I might be wrong, please advice.
    - I’d talked to the seller, fast and detailed answers were given, feeling good.
    - Seller’s background checked - is having good rating, went through the reviews, nothing bad happens.
    - Service was done by their watchmaker last month, thus no receipt.
    - I understand this is not a highly collectible watch, and may not be the best movement of Omega, but I believe it’s the right watch for me to begin with. But highly appreciate if anyone of you have better recommendation.
    - The selling price is my main concern, it seems to be higher than the rest ($4xx-$5xx). But I do agree one of the advice from the expert here: ”…it is far better to overpay for an excellent original vintage omega than to underpay for one in below average or average condition….” (quoted from https://omegaforums.net/threads/condition-condition-condition-and-other-pieces-of-advice.1716/) Is this watch worth the extra dollars? This is my real question of the post.