Forums Latest Members

Advice please. To sell watch privately or through dealer ?

1. Pixie Mar 15, 2017

In 2014 I bought a Speedmaster because it was manufactured in the year of my birth - 1965. I like watches, but I'm no expert and recently Ive done some online research and realise it's more valuable than I thought and so I'd like to sell. I don't think I'm comfortable with a private sale and would prefer to sell to a vintage watch shop. Obviously they'll need their profit and will give me what they see fit. Any recommendations for the best company to deal with? Or is it easier than I think to sell privately? I live in the south east of England. Thanks.

2. Dero13 4 watches. All set to the wrong time. Mar 15, 2017

Personally, selling privately would be the way I would go so you don't lose out a big chunk of change to the dealer. There are plenty of people, myself included, who check the forum/eBay daily for newly listed watches and would pay fair price for them istead of you losing a large chunk of the funds to a dealer.

That said, if you don't care about losing some of the purse and want the extra protection a dealer gives you then go ahead.

Pixie and NT931 like this.
  3. efauser I ♥ karma!!! Mar 15, 2017

It will cost you a hell of a lot less to sell it yourself. If you have the ability to take photos that are up close and in focus, you can do it yourself (although, one look at eBay and you know that doesn't stop people). Of course, now that you posted it's a '65 Speedmaster, you've done all you really needed (or probably wanted) to do. I suspect you'll be getting PMs inquiring about it. Good job!

4. Pixie Mar 15, 2017

I did cringe a bit when, after posting, I read the new member etiquette. As yet no PMs. Genuinely hadn't thought about that. Just want to avoid the greedy shops. Cheers.

5. Rodmar Mar 15, 2017

What were you hoping a shop would give you as far as value?

6. Speedmasterfan88 Mar 15, 2017