Forums Latest Members

Advice on my (potentially) first vintage Longines...

1. Kimega Jan 16, 2019

Hello community! Posting-Newbie here. I have read plenty of advice between others for a little over a year from this forum and have used that advice to secure my first couple of Omega's (a couple of late '40's Seamasters I believe I will never part with). The collection has grown to include different brands as I learned. I have been researching vintage Longines but find it difficult to determine fact from fiction. Currently two for sale on "The Bay". Both have docs from the Heritage dept at Longines that look legitimate. The watches both look legitimate but are significantly different in case dia and style; age and blued hands are similar. I am looking for advice on considerations (not valuation!). What would you do?! Thanks in advance if you make the time.

Top pic with 33.5mm case but great looking lugs IMHO:
    Bottom pic with 37.5mm case with aged dial:
    image.jpeg image.jpeg

2. GuiltyBoomerang Jan 16, 2019

Hey there!

The top one, IMO, has had a massive polish to the point of the case looking very soft.

The bottom one, in comparison, seems to have been spared and appears to be a step case in stainless steel. Suspect is the crown, which is slightly off angle (suggesting a mangled stem/setting lever). The dial appears legit, though more experienced Longines collectors can add more.

Would you have more pictures of the 2nd one for analysis?

qboa and AveConscientia like this.
  3. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Jan 16, 2019

4. Kimega Jan 16, 2019

I agree with you except the hoodinkee pics are a bit too "engineered" on the patina. If only history was that perfect; lol! I will agree they are nice looking pieces though. Hands are a way overdone.

Foo2rama likes this.
  5. Kimega Jan 16, 2019

I shouldn't say agree as I'm not sure how you feel about the new military.

6. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Jan 16, 2019