Forums Latest Members

Advice from old collectors about the Speedy Apollo 11 40th

1. snake.doctor Feb 11, 2019

Hi everybody !

This is my first post on OF after having used it for a long long time, but unfortunately not so much to give back to help others, since there are just so many experienced people around here giving great advices...

I'm seeking for some some help here (because my brain is killing me right now...).

I'm in the process of purchasing my first Speedy. I received an Omega Seamaster limited 007 edition when I graduated in 2006 and since then I always wanted to add the speedy to my collection of watches.

To be completely honest, the Apollo 11 40th anniversay directly caught my eye when it was released back then, but I hadn't the money to buy it since I was still a student.

So I have been chasing this model for some time now, and I see the prices are quite high compared to just 3 years ago. I see this model is selling from 6000 to 8000$ on the different websites and now I have a real issue there.

I just payed a pre-owned 99% version for 5200$ with the original box, coin and certificates. The watch will be sent to me in a few days and I have 14 days to cancel the deal if I'm not happy with the watch (I need to inspect it myselft).

In the meantime there is someone selling one in my country (Switzerland) for 4300$ right now. The issue is, he only has the watch, and not the complete set. to be honest I think I can bring down the price for around 4000$ with him.

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

I also need to inspect it myselft before buying it to be sure it's in a perfect shape.

The main question here, is, is the difference in price worth it to get the full set or not ? I would say it will be more than 1000$ so that makes some money there. Also, I'm not buying the watch for collection only to let it in its case in a safe somewhere. I intent to wear it just like my Seamaster.

So I would appreciate some of your opinions about the case ?