Forums Latest Members
  1. Molko Apr 3, 2018

I just bought my first vintage Omega. Actually, first vintage watch period. I'm a total newbie, but I bought this ~1960 Seamaster Automatic.

What I do know:
    Roughly 1960 according to the 17,xxx,xxx serial number, 570 caliber. It is 14k gold-filled. The crown has been replaced with a different Omega crown. The case is scratched up a good amount, especially on the back. There are definite defects on the dial, near 12 it looks kind of like rust? The seller told me that it just needs a new crystal, no servicing yet. I don't believe the service history is known, it came with no box or information of the sort. I have zero intention of selling this watch. I am a woman with puny wrists, so the 33mm size is great.

What would you guys recommend I have done to it? Any recommendations on whom I should have do it? I am located in Michigan. There are a lot of numbers on the inside of the caseback, any idea what they mean? Is there a reference number for this watch? And any strap suggestions?

[​IMG]
    Here you can see both the scratches and spots on the dial pretty well.

[​IMG]
    I've spent forever trying to capture the rust-looking spot at the top of 12 o'clock, this is the best I could get.

[​IMG]
    The inside of the caseback. I've read that some of these could be from times it has been serviced, but I am not sure.

[​IMG]
    Movement.

[​IMG]
    And a wrist shot.

Thank you so much for any information, I've thoroughly enjoyed reading here the past few days.

jardine000 likes this.
  2. pmontoyap Apr 3, 2018

Hi Molko,

Welcome to the forum and congrats on choosing an Omega as yor first vintage watch. Looks nice on your wrist.

What you have there is an Omega created by Norman Morris cased in the US with a swiss movement. You can tell this by the markings inisde the caseback. Swiss made Omegas will usually have a single reference stamped in smaller numbers.