Forums Latest Members
  1. rascjp Jul 28, 2015

I am in Japan at the moment and rather spontaneously bought myself a stainless steel constellation pie pan 168.0065. As you can see from the bad photos the watch case has a little damage on the bezel and on the bottom left lug. The glass also has some scuffs and one large scratch. The dial as far as I can see is genuine and in perfect condition. The movement is working but obviously needs a service.
    I am very new to antique watches and am not sure if I will keep it or sell it hence my asking for advice here. If I were to sell the watch should I have the watch case repaired and the glass replaced before selling, or sell as is? Where would be the best place to sell it? I am wary of selling on eBay since I've never done it before and suppose there are just as many sharks buying as there are selling. I was wondering of going to a traditional auction house, but of course then there is the seller's commission and other extras. As for selling it privately, I'm not really sure of the watch's worth.
    Thanks in advance for any help that is forthcoming. I'll try and add some clearer photos later. By the way, the watch looks far better in real life than in these photos!
    600x453-2015072200018.jpg 600x397-2015072200024.jpg 600x397-2015072200023.jpg 600x397-2015072200020.jpg

noelekal likes this.
  2. mondodec Editor Constellation Collectors Blog Jul 28, 2015

What exactly is the damage? Apart from the mark on the lug, the case is pretty sharp. The 0065 is not a common watch as a bevy of owners on this forum will tell you, and so generally it's worth keeping.

Depends on how much you paid for the watch and how much it would cost to repair the lug. The crystal could probably be polished with Polywatch. Case back gasket should be replaced by the look of it and of course it must be serviced.