Forums Latest Members
  1. vintage hab May 4, 2020

I'm just learning the ropes and would appreciate any input. I'm looking to buy a speedy, most likely FOIS, and I have been shopping both new & pre-owned at a variety of places online. Obviously grey market is cheaper than buying from an AD, but there can be warranty issues.
    What's the general thought about buying from a grey market dealer? Is this acceptable practice or plain folly? How can I tell if a pre-owned watch was originally purchased at a grey market dealer or AD (and thus may not have warranty)? Should I care?

Thanks!

Mike

2. generious May 5, 2020

If you are in the UK, the FIOS was on sale recently in Mappin and Webb for £3,600 new that came with a 5-year omega warranty.
    As for how can you tell if a pre-owned was purchased via a grey or AD, you need to buy the seller and ask lots of questions.
    If you want to be 100% buy from an AD, I had the same thoughts back in January when I purchased my FIOS and I ended up going to an AD, and got a discount on it and left happy.

Edited May 5, 2020
  3. kroro May 5, 2020

Not sure what discounts you can expect from an AD in your home area, but a friend of mine had his sight on a Seamaster ceramic/titanium and was offered a pretty good chunk off list price from a grey dealer on C24. Unfortunately there was no warranty and this was definitely a deal breaker for him (his first major watch purchase). After some calls to local ADs and proper haggling he managed to get very close to the C24 deal he was offered in the first place.

vintage hab likes this.
  4. kroro May 5, 2020

And of course any thread without pics is useless... the watch in question:
    [​IMG]
    Pic borrowed from monochrome watches.

5. vbrad26 May 5, 2020

Some of it comes down to personal preference.