3861 chrono minutes hand moves on it's own

Hi all,

I have a 3861 Speedmaster Pro, which I love. There seems to be something wrong with it though.

I like to leave the chrono seconds hand at 37 seconds to keep the metal logo and subdials on show.

After about 6 hours, the minute subdial will have at some point moved to around 7 minutes on it's own. It doesn't seem to be a gradual thing, one minute it's at 0, then next time I look it's sat 7 minutes, not moving.

Any thoughts about why this is happening?

Thanks
T

When you start and then stop the chronograph, without resetting it, there is only a small spring holding the jumper that control the minute recorder hand flip. Here is a gif showing the jumper during the flip of the minute recorder hand:

The tension on this spring has to adjusted just right, so the tension is enough to hold the minute recording hand in position when you are timing something, but not strong enough that it causes the watch to stop due to the excess load it creates. The seconds recording hand is actually held in place by the blocking lever (commonly called the brake on forums) but the only thing holding the minute recorder is that small finger and the spring behind it. A small bump will cause it to move.

Yours is not the first complaint of this that I have seen, and this is a rather unorthodox use of the watch. So I know of one other person who took the watch back to Omega for this, and they told him it's normal. One could certainly have the tension on the spring increased, but that may cause the watch to stop prematurely when using the chronograph.

The watch really wasn't designed to be used this way. Having said that, the hand moving around won't harm anything, so there's nothing to really worry about - it just won't stay in the reset position.

Cheers, Al

At least you're not trying to use the minute recorder to track the date. 😉