Forums Latest Members

2915 Rushed Off the block like it was a plague carrier at Phillips

1. Spacefruit Prolific Speedmaster Hoarder May 28, 2019

In one of the fasted lot dismissals I have seen for a while, this 2915 was chased out of the room selling (I think?) for the low estimate of HKD480,000+comission which is about USD $77,200 in total incl commission.

After the previous 18 months of interesting 2915 acution sales, I was looking forward to seeing how this one went. I did not get the chance to handle it - which would give me so much more info, so if anyone did handle it I hope you will chime in.

[​IMG]
    First glance it has the right dial, hands and crown.

2915 Bezel detail.JPG
    The above shot shows the bezel, about which I am still studying so I cannot make a definitive pronouncement. All I will say is that it shows a lot of lathe marks.

For comparison Phillips sold this in Geneva last november (2018) for CHF225,000 (About the same in USD)

What this does highlight, is the pushers on the above lot have striations that I have not seen before.

2915 bezel soldin geneva.JPG

Here is another photo of the watch that just sold,

[​IMG]

This photo is very flattering, and does not show the not insignificant dial damage on the minute subdial

[​IMG]

Plots are dirt, dial is damaged, the pushers are not seen by me before (but of course could be something I have not seen or heard of before) and the bezel is always suspect with these.

It would appear the auction knew they had just one buyer, and they rushed the sale to close it without the buyer watching as the bidding stalled in the room, hanging like a bad smell.

So the question is, did the buyer get a bargain with his sub $100,000 2915?

Or did he buy a tired, not quite right 2915?