Forums Latest Members
  1. F23 Jan 19, 2023

Hello everyone,

I'm completely new to this and might have already made a big mistake..

I bought these two Omega Seamaster Calendar rather cheap on eBay. Unfortunately, I didn't know about the issue with radium hands and dials and I simply opened them without any protection..

Are there any signs that it has been cleaned or repainted or that the hands were replaced?

I'm slightly worried as I might have inhaled some particles when I opened them.

View attachment 1541859 View attachment 1541860

Thanks in advance!

Screenshot_20230119-084422~2.png Screenshot_20230119-084441~2.png
    Edited Jan 19, 2023
  2. Davidt Jan 19, 2023

We’ll both hand sets look incorrect for the watches so although they would’ve had radium hands originally it’s hard to be sure now.
    Only the first watch seems to have radium on the dial.

Given the wrong hands and poor dial on the second, hopefully they were very cheap. Condition, condition, condition.

F23, MtV and Mark020 like this.
  3. watchyouwant ΩF Clairvoyant Jan 19, 2023

Unless you licked them meticulously inside out 24/7/365 , you might be fine .... Generations of Humans have survived Radiation, like in Mickey Mouse concentrations on Watch Dials and Hands .... Read about the Radium Girls in WW2 ; Don't do that.

F23 and Bikerider like this.
  4. gbesq Jan 19, 2023