1988 Omega Seamaster Professional 200m 1441 Quartz movement REPLACEMENT

I have a 1988 Omega Seamaster Professional 200m, (Ref. 396.1041) that once had the 1441 Quartz movement in it. I sent it back for battery service and was informed that the 1441 movement was bad! The only original part I got back on the working watch was the bracelet! They sent me everything back MINUS the Omega bracelet clasp, the watch hands and the old movement. Now I have this beautiful case without any quartz movement and want to put in a replacement quartz movement from ETA. However, nobody appears to know what movement will be needed and the suppliers reiterate that the movements are none returnable!

I wanted to know first, why do you think Omega replaced the watch case? Was it because the new Omega 1438 movement would not fit in the older 1441 case?

Second, is it even doable? Since Omega went the route and simply replaced everything, movement, case body, crown and ALL gaskets, bezel, crystal, hands and slapped on a generic clasp it has me wondering was it another money grab by them?

There must be someone that knows what movement will work with this older 1441 case!

Thank you everyone,

James

Why not rejoice that you got a brand-new watch for the cost of service and sell your parts to someone less fortunate?

Tom

Because I paid MORE for the new quartz movement and case "service" than I paid for the watch when I purchased it new in December of 1988.
This is the watch that I have many happy memories wearing and I wanted to get it up and running. I took it to an Omega Boutique and they wanted between five and six hundred just to get it running. No bracelet...add another four hundred for that. I'd like to get bracelet lugs that I could attach to the case then opened up to 20 or 22mm so that I could use a strap instead of the bracelet.

So you also got back a brand new watch basically ? With a 1438 ?