1983 De Ville Service / Repair

Hope its ok to reach out here? My first post, looking for some advice on a repair.

My mother has my grandfather's 1983 De Ville quartz (195.0011 I think) locked away in a non running state.
I have little knowledge of the watch, or Omega models in general.
I understand that she took it to a regular UK high St jeweller who swapped the battery.
It ran slowly for a few days and then stopped. She returned it to them, who confirmed the battery was fine.

She does tell me that she would wear it if we could get it working.

I don't see many sold of that model, but from thoseI can see, there isn't much value in it.
So on the face of it, it looks like the price of a genuine repair/service from Omega will cost more than the value of the piece. Omega Quartz service looks to be around £450 if I am looking correctly.

So I guess I am looking for an trustworthy independent UK based repairer that could get this sentimental piece running for my mum at a price that she would deem acceptable. I am not sure how realistic that is?
Any suggestions/recommendations for a mail order repairer gratefully received.

Feel free to supply any further info on the model too, as well.

Many thanks

Stu@rt

I think that the typical approach would be to just swap in a new movement. If you want an authentic Omega movement, it might just be best to send it to Omega (if they will take it) and live with the price. I don't know your financial situation, but the watch has sentimental value, obviously.

You might be able to find someone who can swap in a cheap clone movement. Obviously you won't have much of a warranty in that case but you would probably save some money.

I think that the typical approach would be to just swap in a new movement. If you want an authentic Omega movement, it might just be best to send it to Omega (if they will take it) and live with the price. I don't know your financial situation, but the watch has sentimental value, obviously.