Forums Latest Members
  1. AULLRICH Aug 30, 2017

Hi All - I'm very new to the vintage Omega world but feel semi-educated (still room to learn) based on all the lurking I've done on this forum over the past month. I'm looking to buy my soon-to-be husband a 1960's Omega Seamaster DeVille (date preferred, but not a must) and have been doing quite a bit of research as I want this to be a real forever piece that gets handed down later on, not resold for more $. That said, I have found quite a few Omegas on Ebay & other sites that just seem overpriced, over polished, and/or fake.

My fiancé has mentioned wishing he had a nice watch with a bracelet to wear with the suits he has to wear every day to work. Finding an SMD with its original bracelet has been hard, but I did find this post on Ebay the other day: http://www.ebay.com/itm/ALL-ORIGINA...444846?hash=item4d6182d0ae:g:3EwAAOSwa2lZgdBuPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network . Seems too expensive to me, but do y'all think it's legit and not a franken?

Alternatively, I've found beautiful pieces that have a leather band and I would just buy the correct bracelet separately (ends being #70 with 18mm width I believe). Is that advised or should I just keep searching for one with the bracelet? Personally, I love these watches with leather bands, but hey - I'm not the one wearing it everyday. I did come across this one with a few scratches over at Quality Vintage Timepieces.com: 1966 Omega Seamaster DeVille with 550 movement and I think 17 jewels, case model 165.020 for $1,050 USD. The patina is aged a little but seems to be even? I don't have a keen eye for this yet though.

OmeSeaDVNDSUDSSfull.jpg

Any advice is much appreciated - you all seem like a great lot and I wish I had more funds to REALLY dive into the vintage world! - Allison

2. kreyke Aug 30, 2017