Forums Latest Members

1950s Rolex Oyster: help for newbie with potential purchase

1. Impgreene Jan 19, 2020

I’m a Newbie (here and to vintage watches), hence I wondered if anyone could help me by taking a look at the pictures of the watch below that I came across from a private seller.

Ideally it would be great to get an idea of a) authenticity / collectability; b) a reasonable price I should be looking to pay; and c) anything I should know or do before I purchased such a watch.

All the information I have is:

- it’s a sale by a son of his fathers watch following a bereavement, hence not a great deal is known about the watch;

- it’s being sold as a genuine vintage 1950s Rolex Oyster Vintage (c.1952);

- strap is not original or Rolex;

- there hasn’t been a recent service and a service history isn't available;

- the seller doesn’t know if all the parts are original / authentic, or if there has been any replacement or restorations;

- the backplate hasn’t been opened and the movement hasn’t been seen by the current owner (the son).

Thanks for any help you can give.

Picture #1.jpg Picture #2.jpg Picture #3.jpg Picture #4.jpg Picture #5.jpg Picture #6.jpg Picture #7.jpg Picture #8.jpg

janice&fred likes this.
  2. Canuck Jan 19, 2020

Authentic. Not 1950s. More likely mid ‘60s. MANUAL WINDER, not automatic. Condition? Original parts? How would we know? Looks like it has been opened with a chisel! So condition of the movement might be an issue. Strap? This watch was likely originally sold on a steel Oyster bracelet. This thing has a LOT of miles on it, and the bracelet likely wore out, or had a major accident, and it was turfed. Value? You likely don’t want to know what I think!

watch3s, Dan S and Impgreene like this.
  3. janice&fred Jan 19, 2020