Forums Latest Members
  1. deni2s Jan 2, 2019

Hi, all!

I am new to watches (especially vintage), but after missing very nice B6/129 Longines on ebay for good price, just because I decided to delay decision till morning I jumped on this Omega, just to gain some experience for cheap and my gut feeling was that it might be not a bad deal (I have more experience in buying rare car tuning parts on ebay). So bought it first and started to google what it is after ;).

Bad news - price looked like what could be normal ebay price for Frankenstein watch, photos are blurry, description seemed incorrect.
    https://www.ebay.com/itm/1926-VINTAGE-OMEGA-23-4SC-T1-SWISS-GENTS-WATCH-MILITARY-15-JEWELS-BOYS-SIZE-165/362514875781?ssPageName=STRK:MEBIDX:IT&_trksid=p2057872.m2749.l2649Purchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

s-l500.jpg s-l1600 (1).jpg s-l1600 (2).jpg s-l1600 (3).jpg s-l1600 (4).jpg s-l1600 (5).jpg s-l1600 (6).jpg s-l1600 (7).jpg s-l1600 (8).jpg s-l1600 (9).jpg s-l1600 (10).jpg s-l1600 (11).jpg

Looks like seller has good reputation on ebay, but looking at other his items, looks like he is not really into vintage watches, but antiques in general, so that might be excuse for blurry photos and wrong description (yeah I know - hopeful thinking).

So this is what I think about this watch (haven't received it yet), please let me know if I am wrong:

Looks like Omega Naiad, serial number suggests it is produced in 1939.
    Dial looks original to me (which is the most important part of any vintage watch), patinated more or less evenly.
    Case looks like original, caseback matches (numbers on lugs match). Writings on case (Modele + Depose) suggests it's a watch for French market, also 24.3SC caliber has matching "M" engraving/stamp and probably period correct (but maybe not watch correct) metallic bracelet is made in France. Crown looks original to me.