Forums Latest Members

18K YG Omega Seamaster with two tone dial - refinished?

1. waterproofpt Jan 25, 2016

I saw this in a shop today and the customer service person wasn't able to tell me what the reference was or anything else about the watch other than it is apparently from 1952. I've been on the lookout for a two tone dial and this strikes a chord for me. I'll have to go back when the watchmaker is in to get the details and some additional photos. In the meantime, any feedback would be welcome on at least the dial and what is visible in this shot through the display case glass.

[​IMG]

2. Mouse_at_Large still immune to Speedmaster attraction Jan 25, 2016

I'm no expert, and it may be down to the photo, but it seems to me that the minute markers on the top right of the dial protrude into the lighter area, whereas those at the bottom don't. I`m also not sure what the squares are - old lume??

If you are going back, take a loupe!

However, if others who have more experience chip in, you may not need to go back.....

3. gatorcpa ΩF InvestiGator Staff Member Jan 25, 2016

The style of the dial looks correct to me.

However, the picture is not detailed enough to give a good answer as to whether it is original or not.
    gatorcpa

4. waterproofpt Jan 25, 2016

Thanks. From the sounds of it, it's worth a return visit at least. Must say the pics don't do it justice from what I saw. But I'll go back and find out more .... And get better pics.

5. Spike Jan 26, 2016

Mine is very similar as far as the dial layout is concerned......might just be the picture angle but is 'swiss made' too high in relation to the 6 marker in the OP's pic?

ROSIE2.JPG

6. hoipolloi Vintage Omega Connoisseur Jan 26, 2016

Case looks like "custom made"? Not a Seamaster case.

7. DON Jan 26, 2016

Looks refinished. Minute markers appear to be slightly over the edge from 12 - 6

Also. Second hand not correct (too long) and crown is most likely modern plated rather than old gold filled

DON