Forums Latest Members
  1. OmegaRez Oct 7, 2019

I have been researching this site for a while and finally decided to create an account. I am relatively new to Connies, so I wanted to seek some advice, if possible.

I picked up this 1966 14 karat gold Connie from a local seller in the Los Angeles area. It is a nice watch overall, but certainly needs to be cleaned. My main question is about the dial. It seems to me that it was either repainted, or someone decided to try to trace the original script, and did not do a great job. Am I correct in my assessment regarding the dial? I have two other watches, one of which is gold capped and has a white with gold markers dial with original script, but it is not a pie pan. All three watches that I own have 564 cal movement. Therefore, my other question is whether the white with gold markers dial will fit the 14k gold watch, or if I'm better off waiting and looking for a pie pan dial? I will add some pictures and hope my questions make sense. IMG_3034.JPG IMG_3035.JPG IMG_3036.JPG IMG_3037.JPG IMG_3038.JPG IMG_3039.JPG IMG_3040.JPG IMG_3041.JPG IMG_2975.JPG IMG_2984.JPG IMG_2994.JPG IMG_2639.JPG IMG_2616.JPG

Thank you in advance to anyone who is willing to offer advice.

2. Verdi Oct 7, 2019

Dial has been rather poorly redone in the past.

You can restore this one....a good redial costs a few hundred bucks.
    Or you can source another one...if money wise makes more sense.

I would not franken the watch with an incorrect dial.

Dan S, DaveK and felsby like this.
  3. OmegaRez Oct 7, 2019

Thank you, Mircea. That is what I was thinking, just wanted to see if there were other options. Do you, or anyone on this site, know where I can get the dial redone correctly?

4. Verdi Oct 7, 2019

My watchmaker uses a few different guys depending on the budget of the client.
    Obviously, the higher the price....the better the quality. All based in Europe.