Forums Latest Members

Your opinions please on this 145.022-74 Speedmaster

1. Taybharr May 20, 2019

Hello all,

Been a fan of the forum for a while but this is my first time posting. My impression is that there are a lot of intelligent and helpful people on here so I thought I would throw this out there. I have researched Speedmaster references for quite a while but my eyes are still being "trained" as I am fairly new to the world of vintage watches.

I just purchased this speedy on Ebay:

https://www.ebay.com/itm/Vintage-Om...%2F9k2h7PQ%3D&orig_cvip=true&nordt=true&rt=ncPurchases made through these links may earn this site a commission from the eBay Partner Network

I felt confident in the originality of the components based on my readings on here, speedmaster101, fratello, etc. (but please let me know if I am wrong on this!!). One thing I was really attracted to was the lume, but wanted to ask the group if they thought it might be a relume? Specifically, I thought the 6 o'clock marker looked a little funny, almost offset. In addition, while I liked the color of the chrono hand, it is a bit inconsistent with the minute/hour hands and markers. The lume in the chrono hand does appear to fill the corners well though, which made me lean toward the lume job being original. The seller said "original service hands" in the posting but later clarified in an edit that they were original. Will be posting HD photos of the watch on here when I get it in person, but wanted to go ahead and kick off the conversation. Taking everything into account, the watch/price combination was attractive to me but I am open to criticisms.

2. bikehomero May 20, 2019

Your wellcome, I try:

Lume of the indexes are good. Shrinking, like at 6 o'clock is normal. Has some doubts abot the originality of the hands lume as well. We will see better, if it's in your hands and you can post better fotos.