Forums Latest Members
  1. anemo Nov 7, 2014

Hi All

I'm new here and fear I may be starting a watch obsession. I've started with a brand new Speedy Pro which I love.

As I think about what I would like next I am focusing on a dress watch, specifically a vintage Seamaster DeVille.

I have found this for sale on Chrono24.

http://www.chrono24.com/en/omega/18...lSubpath=/omega/seamaster-deville--mod276.htm

I've done a search here for "Seamaster DeVille" and seen a lot of brilliant feedback. From this I believe this watch looks genuine. I think the price is high - this being the UK I guess that is no surprise.

I would be grateful for any opinions from the experts here.

2. Togri Nov 7, 2014

I am by no means an expert, since I am still quite new in watch collecting. But I would venture that you will be able to get just as nice a specimen for about half that price or less! My local vintage watch dealer sells solid 18k DeVilles in very good shape for about $1600-$1700 and he has to make a profit as well.

One can not be warned enough about Chrono24 - the majority of watches are way way overpriced.

Look in the sales section on this forum.

TNTwatch likes this.
  3. anemo Nov 7, 2014

Thanks for the comment. I take the point about Chrono24 and am quite certain that there are better deals to be found. It does provide a new boy with a way to compare a lot of watches though.

I am in the UK which is probably one of the higher price places to go shopping. Overseas shopping always seems to have a perceived risk and I need to check out customs duties etc. Does your local dealer have a website and would you feel comfortable pointing me at it?

Bob.

4. Togri Nov 7, 2014