Forums Latest Members

Worth buying? Constellation 561 with new main spring and non-Omega crystal

1. cppc Mar 4, 2016

I have a chance to buy a 1966 constellation caliber 561 gold filled. It has been serviced recently so that it's very nice and clean. The problem is that the owner said he has replaced the main spring, and currently it has non-Omega crystal. He said he can install a plastic Omega crystal if I want, and the new main spring is Omega original as well. I'm pretty new to this so I'm wondering if anything fishy here. The price is about $1000. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Some photos attached. DSC_0004.JPG DSC_0005.JPG DSC_0012.JPG

2. Peemacgee Purrrr-veyor of luxury cat box loungers Mar 4, 2016

The Connie will be gold capped not filled (better quality)
    The main spring should be replaced with a proper service - so that's okay
    Again - its common to have the crystal replaced if it's scratch but It's generally recommended to have a genuine Omega crystal

cppc likes this.
  3. Foo2rama Keeps his worms in a ball instead of a can. Mar 4, 2016

What are your concerns OP? Your going to need better pics for comments on condition . For price advice look at eBay comparables.

4. Peemacgee Purrrr-veyor of luxury cat box loungers Mar 4, 2016

This looks like a nice watch -better pictures would help but dial looks correct
    It looks like a 168.004?
    But the case has seen some significant polishing - the lugs and bezel have lost their edges - they should be sharp
    - the gold also looks scratched all round the bezel and the back is very shiny
    Do you have any movement and case back pics?

For $1000 you should still be able to get a really nice version of this watch
    However - if it has been properly serviced (a full strip down) - you would require proof- this has a value of $200-300

If you are looking for a nice watch to wear this fits the bill