Forums Latest Members

Wondering If Anyone Can Help Me With Some Info On My Grandfather's Watch

1. IllinoisVette Mar 25, 2013

I recently inherited a Longines watch that was my grandfathers. It had been in a safe deposit box since at least the 1970s. The original band (an expansion bracelet) had broken so I had a very good jeweler here in Chicago go through the watch for function and install a nice leather band. Please take a look at the pictures and let me know if you have any info on when the watch was made (I'm assuming the 1940s) and what model it might be. Thanks in advance.

Watch pictures 002.JPG Watch pictures 005.JPG Watch pictures 006.JPG
    LouS likes this.
  2. MyVintageOmega Mar 25, 2013

Well ...it certainly has some interesting lugs. Any photos of the back or movement...some ref:#s would indeed help.

3. CanberraOmega Rabbitohs and Whisky Supporter Mar 25, 2013

I'm no longines expert, but that is a beautiful watch! did the jeweller actually service the movement (i.e. take it apart, oil each piece, put it back together)? If not, please DO NOT use the watch until it has been serviced, as without oil, you risk doing damage to the watch. with a new crystal, that will look spectacular.

4. IllinoisVette Mar 25, 2013

He did do a full service on it (to the tune of almost $600 including the new band). I'll have to get some pictures of the back of it, but I don't have any of the movement and I'm not qualified to take the back off to take any. Thanks for the info so far.

5. LouS Mrs Nataf's Other Son Staff Member Mar 25, 2013